A Million Times NO! (Day 6)

I know it seems like I missed Day 5. I was supposed to write about something I hope to do in my life. Now before you get all judge-y on me, let me just say that those entries (yep, I got more than one) have already been posted way before I even found out about this blog project. You can choose from the following posts. Part 1 of Travel, Part 2 of Travel (if I haven’t made my intentions clear yet… I would really love to TRAVEL) and something about Jaws (I promise it’s more interesting than it sounds)

With that, I’ve decided to jump right into Day 6 of the Blog Project.

Day 6 is about something you hope never to do. Before I get into that though, I just wanted to say how incredible it is to be given the chance to immerse myself in all the beauty this world has to offer. The best part though, is being able to share each day with the people that mean the most to you. Every single day is a blessing that should never be taken for granted.

This statement leads me to answer the 6th question on the list. In my life… Even though it may sound selfish… I hope I never have to say goodbye to anyone I love.

I am seriously bad at saying goodbyes. A perfect example would be having to say goodbye to my cousin/aunt, Jill (it’s a long story. I shall explain it in another post) every time she has to go back home to the US. It’s always the same story (give or take.) She comes to visit, we pick up where we left off and have the most amazing time and a few days later, I’m helping her pack her bags. It’s sad but, it has to be done.

Now before you start thinking about how much of a weirdo I am (because I know it’s running through some people’s minds right now,) I’d like to stress that I am not that intense about goodbyes. Yeah I cry and wave at airports (tell me that’s not a cliché) and I cried when Harry Potter ended (I just had to squeeze that in there) but I can promise that tears will not be shed every time my Mom has to head to the office or my grandmother has to go to the grocery. I’m sooo not that shallow (sorry to disappoint)

The goodbyes I’m talking about are more of a permanent nature.

 

If you haven’t figured out what I mean yet, then you lead a very sad life indeed. The “permanent goodbyes” are the ones that can’t be changed and can’t be taken back. (this would be the perfect time to have a light bulb click somewhere in the back of your mind) 🙂

The thing is, you never have control over when that day will come (I refuse to say death so we’ll just call it Mort) One day you could be sipping coffee with that person and the next, you’re wearing black and bawling your eyes out because Mort decides to pay your little circle of love a visit.

Speaking from personal experience, losing someone to Mort definitely tips the pain scale at an alarming rate. The lucky ones slowly recover from it but, there are those that spend the rest of their lives feeling empty inside.

 

Among all the possible fears I will have to face, losing someone I love definitely tops the list of things I hope I never have to do. Granted, I have done it before (and those moments probably belong to the top half of my worst life experiences list) and know it’s inevitable but, having to go through life with that taunting your every moves really makes you think twice about open your heart to someone.

Just thinking about Mort scares the bejeezus out of me but then again, going through that is The Circle of Life. As they say, “It’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all.”

Every waking moment is a blessing. Treasure it! 😀

 

May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back.  May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields.  And until we meet again, may God hold you in the hollow of his hand.

– An Irish Blessing

2 thoughts on “A Million Times NO! (Day 6)

Leave a Reply

