No shame in being POTTER-fied!!!

It was approximately 13 years ago when I first picked up Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Being a 10 year old kid (at the time) of a Mom who flies to and from London almost every year, I always, ALWAYS looked forward to the little presents she’d bring back. 23 years later (which is my current age. My brother apparently thinks I should make my age clearer), she has yet to disappoint (which I doubt she will.) The first 3 books of the Harry Potter series however, was probably one of, if not THE BEST gift she ever brought back.

I’m a Harry Potter kid and I hold no shame in that. Some of my friends call me geeky or nerdy. At the beginning, I would have Petrificus Totalus-ed the hell out of them but I’ve learned to live with it. 🙂 I don’t really get what the big whoop is anyway. Some people love Anime, some people are Trekies and there are the Star Wars Nerds (which I am a part of as well) but Harry Potter is, by far, my biggest obsession.

 

Do I re-read the series? HELL YEAH! It’s still my favorite of the bunch. Yeah I love to read and I’ve gone through quite a few books in my time (including a handful of great series) but HP still holds a special place in my heart. 😀

That being said, I’m embarrassed to say that it took me almost 4 years after the release of the last Harry Potter book to actually pick up that final novel. We bought the book the first week it was released and yet I read it just before Deathly Hallows Part 1 came out in theatres. My brother (an equally emphatic Potter lover) literally started reading the minute the novel fell into his clutches. I, on the other hand, refuse to succumb to temptation. Little by little, spoilers started popping up here and there. By the end of the 1st month, I basically knew the gist of the entire book.

Was I disappointed? Not really. I can’t expect the whole world to stop spinning just because I refused to pick up that final book. Besides, I’d like to think that I interpret things a tad bit differently than other people so I may just dig up something from the story that others haven’t (this was the arrogant side of me.) If you’re curious to find out if I did find something amazingly new… The answer would be… Probably not. Haha. 😀

Fellow Potter lovers asked me why I put off reading the book for so long. In all honesty, I put it off because I refused to let that era end. Yes it ended world-wide but, maybe if I didn’t read it, time would stop for me and this particular part of my life would freeze. The kid in me (actually, even the adult side of me) refused to let go. Unfortunately, my postponing of the last novel did not stop Dobby from dying nor did it bring Dumbledore back to life. The world went on and somewhere along the way, I realized that I had to too. So a week before the movie was due out, I picked up the book and I started to read.

 

Tears were spilled and my heart ached not just because of untimely deaths but because of the inevitable end to my personal Wizarding World. I felt like I was losing a part of myself that I was trying so hard to hang on to. I was losing so much more than just a book. I was letting go of the thing that gave so much life and excitement to my imagination. I was parting ways with these fictional characters I’ve come to label as friends. 😦

To J.K. Rowling I say, thank you for filling my head with all of these fantastic thoughts. They may be fictional (or are they?! 😛 ) but they’ve become part of some of my best childhood memories. Thank you for being such a wonderful blessing.

To Harry, Ron, Hermione and the rest of the gang I say, thank you for taking me with you on all of your adventures (as if you had much of a choice.) I’ve grown up imagining your world and, at some point, I wanted to live in it with all of you. Thank you for giving me such joy in the simplest of things and for highlighting how important family and friends are in life. It’s been a great ride and I will forever be grateful.

This isn’t a goodbye. Years from now, if and when I am blessed with my own kids, they’ll get to share in Harry’s adventures too. By that time I’m sure authors will think of some other character to fill their pages and they’ll be some other world so fantastic that it’ll fill the dreams of the next generation. For me though, it’ll never change…

It’ll always be HARRY POTTER. 😀

Harry Potter: Is this all real..? Or is it just happening inside my head?

Professor Dumbledore: Of course it’s happening inside your head, Harry. But why then should it mean that it’s not real?”

26 thoughts on “No shame in being POTTER-fied!!!

  1. Amen! 🙂
    The same as you, I plan to read Harry Potter to my children if I ever have any. I am determined to brainwash them into little Potterheads! And if they don’t like it…..well they may just have to be disowned 😛
    It’s so sweet the way you delayed the last book, like your brother, I started it straight away, but I rationed the last few chapters, determined to make them last as long as possible. Then as soon as I finished it, I reread the whole series again cause I couldn’t bear to let go.
    I has questions for you 😉
    Favourite book?
    Favourite character?
    Favourite spell?
    Favourite film?
    🙂

  2. so happy to hear from a fellow potter lover! I admire your strength – no idea how you were able to put off reading that last book, i was hooked the minute i bought it and couldn’t stop. i loved growing up with harry and i think j.k. rowling is an absolute genius. anyone who says otherwise clearly has not read the series. great post!

    • Trust me, it took a lot of self control. Haha. 🙂 That PLUS my refusal to actually end the series won over my wanting to read the last book. 😀

      People who have yet to read the actual books and are settling for the movies are missing half of their lives.

  3. I agree wholeheartedly! I am fairly older that you are and I happily took along my Harry Potters to work and read at my desk. When asked about why I would invest in “children’s books”, I simply replied that my daughter would be the first among her friends to have a really cool collection of books! However, like you, I’m putting off reading Deathly Hallows – I refuse to see the movie also. I’m trying to prolong the story myself…

    • Haha. And I thought I was bad… 😀
      It’s cool though that you have so much self-control. I succumbed a week before Deathly Hallows Part 1 was released though. The suspense was killing me! 😛
      It’s sooo great to hear from a fellow Potter Head! 😀

  4. Woah! I thought I was the only person who put off reading that last book. I didn’t want to get sucked up into all the hype. I started reading them to my daughter and once she was old enough to “go it alone” I continued to read them for myself. But…..I still haven’t read Deathly Hallows or seen the film. Dobbie dies? Nooooooo.

  5. Couldn’t have said it better myself. Mind you, I read the last book the absolute second I was able to get my hands on it…lol…but I understand what you’re saying. I didn’t want the story to end either. It’s a little painful when you’ve grown to love something so much and it comes to an end. 🙂

    • It took me a while to accept that the whole thing was about to end. I cried when I read the last book and a tear or two fell when I watched Deathly Hallows Part 2 in the theatre. I don’t think there will ever be anything that can equal the AWESOMENESS that was HARRY POTTER! 😀

  6. I’m in my mid-30s and am not ashamed to say I love the Harry Potter series also. 🙂
    My 12 year old wants to have a Harry Potter marathon weekend so I’m sure we’ll be doing that in the very near future.

  7. Just so you know…I was not a Harry Potter kid..I was a Harry Potter adult and proud to say it…I have the entire collection and like your brother read each one the minute I got a hold of it…I think they are brilliant and am still having withdrawal symptoms…

    Kat

Leave a Reply

