Livin in the Movies!!!

One of my followers sent me a message the other day, asking me to recommend some books and movies that she should consider looking up. I don’t claim to be an expert or anything. I read books and watch movies that I genuinely enjoy. If you’re the type who enjoys cowboy movies or one’s that have long dialogues and detailed explanations… Then I’m probably not the best person to ask because I wouldn’t know what to tell you. That being said, I don’t actually follow a specific genre. If it looks interesting, chances are, I’ll end up checking it out. If I don’t like it, well… it isn’t very difficult to stop the movie or permanently shelf the book (or in some cases, I give them away to someone who would actually pick it up and enjoy it)

So as not to make this entry seem like the 1st chapter to a never-ending novel, I will start with a list of 5 movies then work the book list into another post. 🙂 I promise to work on the book list just as soon as I dot my I’s and cross my T’s in this movie entry.

Let’s start….

“I believe in music the way that some people believe in fairy tales.” – August Rush

I’m a musician, literally and figuratively speaking (I’m currently a student at the UST Conservatory of Music.) To say I was amazed at the kid would be an understatement. I was completely floored and in absolute awe of his talents. I toil and trudge through my music classes (theory and solfeggio) every single day. To watch this child process music like Einstein would Science was completely mind-blowing. I don’t want to spoil the movie for those who actually want to watch it, so let me just say that this film was an absolute joy. There was so much faith, hope and candid love that you can’t help but smile every now and then. AWESOME pick me up movie! 😀

WARNING: This next movie will be a contradiction to my previous statement of not liking films with long, detailed dialogues.

” If I am King, where is my power? Can I declare war? Form a government? Levy a tax? No! And yet I am the seat of all authority because they think that when I speak, I speak for them.” – The King’s Speech

Like I said earlier, I do not particularly enjoy movies that do nothing but talk incessantly. To be perfectly honest, I started watching the film because I personally believe that Colin Firth oozes talent and Helena Bonham Carter is just flat out brilliant. However, as the film progressed, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the witty banter among the characters. It was interesting to witness just how difficult remedying a speech impediment was. I was also fairly amused at how unorthodox the methods of the therapist were. If you’d like to watch something that makes you think, is very interesting and can make you chuckle every once in a while, this movie has all that plus a little something extra. 🙂

“I want you to look in the mirror and find something you’ve never had the courage to say before” – The Art of Getting By

I wasn’t aware that I was a fan of Freddie Highmore. Then I realized that in this movie list, he’s appeared twice already. I guess that does make me a fan of sorts. Anyhow, I found this movie rather fascinating. Why? Because it was so simple yet so honest. I loved how George (the main character) was able to portray how nonchalant yet incredibly talented he was without coming off as arrogant. I also loved how the story evolved with the characters and how each character was able to grown into his/her own skin at the end. I guess every teen goes through a variation of the “Everything seems meaningless” phase, probably not as extreme as this one, but similar. Despite the clichés of regular teen drama, this was a light but beautiful film that I absolutely enjoyed.

“What truly is logic? Who decides reason? My quest has taken me to the physical, the metaphysical, the delusional, and back. I have made the most important discovery of my career – the most important discovery of my life. It is only in the mysterious equations of love that any logic or reason can be found. I am only here tonight because of you. You are the only reason I am. You are all my reasons.” – A Beautiful Mind

This movie speaks for itself. It tests your mind, your body as well as your heart. This man was a dreamer in EVERY sense of the word and more.  He searched for answers and ran into more questions along the way. He got lost in every way possible. The beauty of this film comes from his journey towards finding himself, understanding the problem, picking up the pieces and mending his life. I thought this movie was intoxicating as well as moving. Intoxicating in a way that makes you think and moving because of all the pain he goes through. What is more touching is him being able to find someone who accepted him, flaws and all. This film was utterly complex and had a lot of surprising twists in the beginning, the middle as well as the end.

“Three Rings for the Elven-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.” – THE LORD OF THE RINGS

I will now allow the geekier side of me to seep through as I reveal the final “MUST WATCH” film (or in this case, films) on my list. You know how they say the books are always better than the movies? Well, I must say that, although the books were more detailed, the movies were pretty kickass! After 8 years, I’m still trying to wrap my mind around how vivid they were able to paint the scenes of this film. It was all that I dreamed it would be, times infinity (what a dorky way of putting it. Haha.) I loved the adventure and the thrill of seeing the movie unfold. If you haven’t seen these flicks yet (just in case you didn’t know, there are 3)… You are seriously missing half of your life. 😛

NOTE: For those who aren’t aware yet, THE HOBBIT (also written by J.R.R Tolkien) will be released December of this year. Here’s a sneak peak aka the trailer via youtube. ENJOY! 😀

2 thoughts on “Livin in the Movies!!!

  1. I agree with all the movies you’ve put! I absolutely loved a beautiful mind, and it was so interesting to get an insight into how a Schizophrenics mind may work. I’m also a huge LOTR fan, I can’t believe we have to wait until NEXT DECEMBER for it to come out! 😦

Leave a Reply

