Guilty Pleasures

Everyone has guilty pleasures. Some people are hooked on afternoon soap operas, others love pickles with ice cream (trust me, I have a friend who just LOVES the stuff) and still others read those cheesy romance pocketbooks that have half naked couples plastered on the front cover and are 60-80 pages long (again a friend of mine swears by them) Regardless, everyone has a “deep dark secret” they would rather keep hidden from the world. Not because they don’t enjoy it. Given the chance, they’d probably waste the day away indulging themselves. They hide it because they’re embarrassed. (Not exactly mortified but embarrassed nonetheless)

There will always be people who won’t agree with your tastes. Some might think you’re boring and others might just label you as weird. As much as I would like to think I can do no wrong when it comes to the books I read and the shows I watch, I have to say that I too have guilty pleasures. I have labelled them as such because, as much as I love them and know that a lot of other people (mostly women) are enamoured by them, my friends aren’t as crazy about them as I am. In fact, most (if not all) aren’t even interested. My guilty pleasures are Vampire stories. I was hooked on the Twilight series for the longest time. I kept reading and re-reading the books until I felt like my eyes were going to pop out of their sockets. (I’ve outgrown them though. I only read them once a month now. 🙂 ) I’m gaga about the House of Night series and I was crazy about the Vampire Academy books as well. (Crap! I’m getting geekier and geekier by the second.) I also admit to being hopelessly in love with Damon Salvatore from the Vampire Diaries and I did follow the 1st season of True Blood. Basically, I have become your typical bandwagon fanatic.

Being true to my fanatic title… I have made a poem (YES a poem!) It’s in the supposed perspective of Damon from Vamp Diaries (again I reiterate my hopeless devotion to a fictional character.) To those who don’t watch the Vamp Diaries and haven’t figured it out yet, Damon is a vampire.

So to all the haters, hate away. I couldn’t care less. To all my fellow crusaders (it sounded more regal 🙂 ), may you find some sort of enjoyment from this entry. And to my family, who will inevitably be reading this post, please don’t disown me. 😀

TIMELESS

Running late, I’m out of time
The joys of childhood forever sublime
Hundreds of moons sink and rise to the sky
The truth I can no longer deny

You see it in my eyes, the stories of old
The legend of ages too impossible to behold
Yet seeing is not always to believe
For the eyes are just as easily deceived

A touch will not completely suffice
For everything, one must pay a certain price
I live my life forever alone
A heart that once beat, now turns to stone

I keep the beast locked deep inside
Reality and fiction border on the great divide
Buried under thousands of years
Only able to weep crystal tears

I cannot give in to the thirst I feel
What I am shouldn’t even be real
A thousand more lives as a monster in the night
My fate is sealed… I no longer wish to fight.

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. haha, I think it’s a requirement for people to go through a vampire/werewolf/supernatural phase! Not going to lie, I totally had one. Granted, mine was in the late 90’s/early 00’s so it was very gritty, grungy, and gothic lol. I read a lot of vampire hunter books, the Dhampir series by Barb and JC Hendee is the series I remember the most, and the first Underworld movie came out with I was 13, I believe. Definitely got into the whole vampire vs. werewolf thing. haha, this post is bringing back memories!

    • I just realized that I never got to reply to this comment so I’m replying now (better late than never right? 🙂 ) The whole vamp and werewolf thing is pretty interesting actually. If people just got into the backstory more… They’d totally get the facination. 😀

Leave a Reply

