Not Everything Needs To Make Sense

I was never one for sad and/or sappy stories (because they can be both and then some…) Back in the day, I would mock girls who’d watch schmaltzy movies and read about star-crossed lovers destined to be together by fate (this excludes Romeo and Juliet for obvious reasons) You remember those… The stories that usually ended with one dying and the other re-living the life they once had together (sniff, sniff, sob sob) Why on earth would you want to put yourself through all that heartache? There’s enough sadness in the real world to go around so why do we have to watch and read about it too?!

This was of course, the cynic in me. Years later, (meaning now) because I believe myself to be more learned and more mature, (or so I think, but I could be wrong) I have come to realize that stories like that aren’t as horrid as I believed them to be. Sure they only happen to 1 out of 30 couples (give or take) but still, they happen.

Earlier tonight I caught the end part of Dear John on the telly. I wasn’t hysterically sobbing or anything (because that would just be stupid) but I did find myself unusually melancholic at some part and, to be honest, a few tears did escape my eyes a couple of times (okay fine, I may have needed a Kleenex or two.) I guess no matter how tough you try and make yourself out to be, your walls will come crumbling down eventually.Some call it feelings, I call it a lapse in judgement (Just kidding! I’m not heartless people)

So if you will permit (just being polite. You don’t really have much of a choice.) I shall be handing in my 2 cents worth on the subject of love. (I promise to raise it to 5 cents if and when love comes a’knockin)

1) Love pulls you in so many drastic directions. Either you’re rocketing to, through, over and under the moon, bored out of your mind or plummeting to the ground at 300 mph. (if I missed something, feel free to let me know.)

2) Love is cryptic. A simple wink could mean the world. Some people can go through their entire lives without directly telling somebody that they love them but apparently feeling like that somebody is their sun, moon and stars.

3) Love is beautiful in so many amazing ways. Yeah it can be painful but you gotta remember that nothing is perfect in life. Even the most wonderful things have their flaws. The trick is to erase the blemishes and magnify the awesomeness 10 fold.

4) Love is giving yourself completely and without question. Sometimes it doesn’t always make sense and it doesn’t always have to. Some of the best things in life are unfathomable.

5) Love is above both reality and imaginary. LOVE JUST IS…

So yeah, we all live in the REAL world where we encounter REAL people with REAL problems and REAL broken hearts (figuratively speaking). But who’s to say that falling in love and living happily ever after isn’t real too? Love, just like life, is how we make it out to be. When it comes to love, walls and barriers break quicker than glass.

Now I end this entry with some words from good ‘ol Mr. HD Thoreau:

There is no remedy for love but to love more

Dear John...

"When his eyes met mine, I felt something click, like a key turning in a lock. Believe me, I'm no romantic, and while I've heard all about love at first sight, I've never believed in it, and I still don't. But even so, there was something there, something unrecognizably real, and I couldn't look away."

2 thoughts on “Not Everything Needs To Make Sense

  1. Your post just brings to mind a favorite quote of mine. Ironically from a book I haven’t actually read, but I think you’d enjoy the quote as I do. 🙂

    “I wanted so badly to lie down next to her on the couch, to wrap my arms around her and sleep. Not fuck, like in those movies. Not even have sex. Just sleep together, in the most innocent sense of the phrase. But I lacked the courage and she had a boyfriend and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating. So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.” by John Green in Looking For Alaska.

Leave a Reply

